Newport, RI: Spring 2013

The first weekend in April, Mom and I took a weekend trip down to Newport, RI for a little R&R. She got the trip off Rue La La and it was two night in an adorable boutique hotel complete with massages. Perfect. We also figured we would tour some of the Newport Mansions while we were there.

We got there Friday afternoon and spent the day exploring the mansions before we even checked into the hotel.

IMG_4214

And I thought Mom over-decorated.

IMG_4215

This isn’t weird or creepy to have in a house at all.

IMG_4216

Can’t you just picture Lady Mary sitting here having tea?

IMG_4217

Just pretending I am a rich bitch from the 1800s, don’t mind me,

IMG_4218

I loved this kitchen. Upgrade the appliances and I’d take this in a heartbeat. The red painted floors!

IMG_4219

IMG_4222

In front of the Marble House.

IMG_4225

Mom, out-posing me, no surprise there.

IMG_4226

If you press this, Bates shows up.

IMG_4227

They were self guided audio tours. But this is a pretty accurate representation of what I looked like circa 1994. Discman in my pocket.

IMG_4228

The view from the roof of The Elms.

We’ve been through most of the mansions before, and I do recommend touring a few of them. Two or three will do it, otherwise it just gets to be overkill and the grand houses stop being so awe-inspiring and suddenly you’re calling all the 16th century china “tacky”. The Breakers has always been my favorite, but we skipped it this time because I’ve done it about a million times.

The best thing we did this time was the servant’s tour of The Elms. So fascinating! It was JUST like Downton Abbey! The servants all lived in rooms at the top of the house and it was a long hallway with rooms off it just like in Downton. The servants quarters were also nicer than my apartment, so there’s that.

We had dinner downtown and then finally checked into the hotel, where we were greeted with champagne and chocolates and we immediately put on the hotel robes and hopped into bed. Because that is what one does in these situations, always.

IMG_4230

This is how my life should always look.

IMG_4231

This is actually how her life DOES always look, because she has a habit of snacking in bed.

IMG_4234

The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel and did another mansion tour (we bought the five tour package, which was too many, we ended up only doing four).

IMG_4237

IMG_4238

IMG_4239

After that we wandered around shopping and eating. I got a new Alex & Ani bracelet (a gold phoenix, I love him) and we both bought Newport sweatshirts because it was absolutely frigid. We had our massages that night which were blissful and lovely and then we spent the rest of the evening just relaxing.

The, the next morning, I had the most amazing bananas foster french toast that has ever existed:

IMG_4243

After that we went home. And now I really want that french toast.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

