tales from funemployment

Now that I don’t technically have a job, you’d think I would have found myself with lots of free time on my hands. This has not been the case.

Guys. Being unemployed is hard work. At this point, I’m really only referring to is as “funemployment” to convince myself.

I still bring my laptop home every night and check my email obsessively. So I can forward my emails on to the person they gave my job to. (Side note: is this legal? Or ethical? To give my job to someone else without telling me why?)

Where am I bringing my laptop home from, you may be wondering. The office. That’s where. Because I still come in for at least an hour or two every day to chat with people and try to network and see if I can find myself another job at the company.

So far it’s not working.

When I am at home, I am frantically packing up my apartment to prepare to move back in with my mother on Friday. Which is not thrilling, to say the least. I know I am very fortunate to be able to do this, and the timing is working out perfectly, but my original plan for moving in there was to shovel money into savings while I house hunt. Now I am living there because I can’t afford to live on my own. My dreams of being a homeowner have been delayed indefinitely.

All in all, life is feeling pretty depressing at the moment. I’d just like to fast-forward to a time in the future when everything is sorted out and I am looking back on this period and saying “I’m so glad THAT’S over! Things really worked out for the better!”

I’ll let you know when I get there. I’m really hoping it’s soon.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “tales from funemployment

  1. […] out of a job for the second time in the last three years. A little background: two summers ago I found myself laid off when my department went through a restructuring. It was a stressful few months while I struggled to […]

Leave a Reply

