NaNoWriMo: Days 4-11 | And Then, a Breakthrough

Things got really hairy there for awhile. In fact, it may still be a bit precarious here in Novel Writing Land. It didn’t take me long to reach that point where I hated everything I was writing and moving forward just seemed like I would be digging myself into a big old mess I wouldn’t want to edit once I was finished.

So I did something crazy and went backwards. I pretty much went right back to the beginning and started all over. I hadn’t intended to; I had just intended to go back and finagle a few of the larger details and rework a few scenes, but one thing led to another and I found myself re-writing everything.

Not a great place to find yourself in at the beginning of week two. But now I feel more confident in what I’m writing, which is making it easier to move forward.

Another thing that’s started to happen, is suddenly my brain is working overtime coming up with ideas for other novels. I’ve been having random strikes of inspiration, whether it’s for an entirely new idea or improving upon an idea I’ve had living in my brain for awhile. I imagine it’s just because my creative juices are flowing (that phrase actually really squicks me out), but I’m not complaining. In between bursts of writing I’ve been jotting down ideas all over the place. Not very productive for my current work, but hey. You gotta take it when you can.

Word Count: 11,408 (why yes I AM massively behind schedule)

Tagged ,

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Days 4-11 | And Then, a Breakthrough

  1. […] already blown my word goal for the week out of the water and it’s only day 3. Usually by this point I’m struggling hard and resort to just jumping ahead to a scene I think will be more fun to write and leaving out […]

Leave a Reply

