Looking Back: January

One of my main purposes for having a blog is so I can look back at my life and reminisce. So I have some kind of documentation of the things I have done and the places I’ve been and the people I’ve known. It occurred to me recently that I don’t actually ever look back through old posts.

So for every month this year, I’m going to look back at posts from previous years for that month and pull some of my favorite moments.

January 2011:

IMG_9335

I’m Taking a Vacation – We got SO MUCH SNOW this winter. Look at those snowbanks! It snowed heavily once a week for a good three months.

IMG_2703

Sweater Weather – This set of photos are my favorite ones I ever took from my foray into fashion blogging. Speaking of fashion blogging: oh my GOD am I glad I quit that. I never felt completely comfortable doing it, and I wasn’t very good at it, either. It is fun now to look back and see how my style has evolved, though.

Picnik collage

Happy New Year, Too – I’m including this because it’s also what I did for NYE 2013 and 2014, essentially. I even took the same food picture.

January 2012:

Dieting – Honestly, I have posted something to this effect so many times. I am so sick of it. I am sick of hearing myself talk about dieting, and working out, and losing weight. So I’m really trying not to do it anymore. At least, I’m trying not to obsess over it. I am happy, I am healthy, and I enjoy food. Being healthy, looking good, and feeling good about myself are all still important to me, and I feel like I am coming closer to reaching a balance between enjoying life and maintaining a figure I am comfortable with.

6751087159_1ef6fc08f6_z

Turtle, Turtle, Turtle – I can remember wearing this outfit and feeling weird about it, but looking back I am actually digging it. I may even recreate it. Turtlenecks for the win!

Sleeping Bag Coats – I still love my sleeping bag coat. With how cold this winter has been, I have more than once considered upgrading mine to the version that reaches my ankles. Seriously, I don’t like the cold touching me.

January 2013:

2013 ResolutionsHahahaha. Nope. This is why I’m not making resolutions anymore.

Winter of Me – Ugh. This was really, really hard to look back on. Last year was just the worst. I can happily report that “Boyfriend” and “N” are one in the same and we are happily together again. 2013 was definitely a rough year for me. It was a growth year, for sure, and I needed it, but it was HARD. I am hoping 2014 will bring more growth, but maybe be a bit more gentle on me.

Know When to Walk Away, Know When To Run – Like I said, 2013 was rough. I was obviously in a difficult spot in January of last year. This whole past holiday season, despite the fact that I wasn’t really feeling it, I was so grateful to be in a better place than I was last year.

I am still extremely grateful to be where I am now. Life isn’t perfect, by any means, but I feel as though I am more content. I am excited for everything in life I have to look forward to, and I’m ready to just go with the flow a bit more. No more timelines, no more goals and planning. I just want to live. So maybe that’s my New Year’s resolution – to just be.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Looking Back: January

  1. I fully support an unresolution. Mine is “be happier”…cause let’s face it, being happy is what makes the world go ’round. 🙂

  2. Angela says:

    I loved reading this post! I find it’s always so strange to look back on past posts or pictures. I’m glad you’re feeling optimistic about this year, and that you and your boyfriend are back together 🙂 Also resolutions really do suck. I optimistically make them every year and then hate myself for the following 12 months hahah. I will have to call quits on them too next year 😉

    I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog!!

Leave a Reply

