The Magic Hour

The temperature has been steadily becoming more crisp in New England for the past few weeks and as much as it pains me and fills me with deep guilt to say this – I ain’t mad.

Summer is my favorite. I love the heat. I love the beach. I love wearing as little clothing as possible.

But man, there’s just something about fall, isn’t there?

The humidity goes away, the air is crisp and fresh, the leaves start to turn colors. Suddenly, all I can think about is cozy sweaters, and pumpkin, and pie, and cooking everything in the Crock Pot.

Fall has always felt more like the start of a new year to me than January. Spring and Summer are all about getting out there, having fun, going on trips, forsaking all kinds of responsibility. Then Fall comes along, and I pretty much say “Welp, it’s almost. Better get my shit together.” So I do all the fun, cozy, nesting sort of things – I bake, I buy “Autumn Walk” scented candles, I wear sweats that are five sizes too big, I take long bubble baths – but I also tend to get a serious urge to re-organize my whole life in the Fall. Probably a leftover side effect from my school days, but this time of year just makes me want to sort everything into neatly labeled boxes and purge all the crap I don’t need or want anymore. It’s refreshing.

This summer in particular was uber busy and stressful and all over the place for me (more on that in a few weeks), so I am seriously looking forward to life winding down this Fall. I have lots to look forward to, and I have a good feeling that everything is going to fall nicely into place and I’ll finally be able to breathe a bit easier.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

