Engaged!

  

Big news people! N finally, FINALLY popped the question! 

I couldn’t be happier. Could. Not. He’s probably pretty relieved I’m not nagging him anymore and pointing out everyone on Facebook that is engaged that is not us.

He caught me completely off guard. I knew the proposal was coming, but I didn’t know when. The Sunday of Memorial Day weekend we were getting ready to go to a BBQ at his parents house and I was stomping around pouting because I gained a million pounds this winter and hated all my clothes. I’d finally settled on something and was finishing getting ready when I heard “At Last” playing really loudly in the kitchen. Still had no idea what was going on, because it’s honestly not that weird for N to be listening to that type of music. I did think it was weird he was cranking the music when we were supposed to be getting in the car to leave, though.

So I go out there to ask him what he’s doing, and there he is down on one knee with the ring. I’m pretty sure I said “ARE YOU SERIOUS!” and stood there in disbelief until he actually asked me to marry him, then I snatched that ring right out of his hands.

If he had even remotely tried to plan a more extravagant proposal I would have been on to him immediately, so this was really pretty smart on his part. Then we got to go to the BBQ and tell his entire family, and it was honestly one of the best days ever. I get all warm and fuzzy thinking about it.

The Don’s reaction was also QUALITY. I’m posting it here because she doesn’t read this and I feel it needs to be documented:

She had been down the Cape all weekend and wasn’t answering her phone, so when she FINALLY got back I raced down to her house. She knew something was up, because it was like 8:30 at night and that is definitely my bedtime. She had no idea I was going to tell her we were engaged, because she saw me pull up and saw N wasn’t with me (he actually was asleep, since he works nights and was snoozing before his shift). 

The strategy I took was to just walk in the house holding up my hand, and the above video is what happened.

Being engaged is SUPER EXCITING and yet also SUPER OVERWHELMING. But mostly it feels absolutely perfect.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Engaged!

  1. […] They WERE greener pastures for awhile. I was working on interesting projects and getting experience in a field I really wanted to work in. However, it was also quickly apparent that this wasn’t going to be a long-term option for me. I planned on staying a year and then starting to look for new opportunities at the end of this summer. Unfortunately, that timeline was moved up a few months when my position was reduced to a part-time contract role, something I can’t currently swing, financially. I’m employed through the first week in August, then I’m on my own in the big wide world. The timing is less than ideal, considering we just bought a house and got engaged. […]

  2. […] 2015 was a DOOZY. It all started Memorial Day weekend, when N and I got engaged! It feels both not real and like we’ve just always been engaged. From there we threw […]

Leave a Reply

